cresc...Images of Sound

›Light and Shadow‹

Arnold Schoenberg: ›Begleitmusik zu einer Lichtspielscene‹ Op. 34 (1930)
György Ligeti: ›Lux aeterna‹ (1966)
György Ligeti: ›Clocks and Clouds‹ (1972)
Arnold Schoenberg: Five Orchestral Pieces Op. 16 (1909)
Helmut Lachenmann: ›Klangschatten - mein Saitenspiel‹ for 48 string players and three pianos (1972)
Frankfurt Radio Symphony, SWR Vokalensemble, Robert Regös & GrauSchumacher Piano Duo, Brad Lubman (director)

Hessischer Rundfunk, hr-Sendesaal

With his ›Begleitmusik zu einer Lichtspielscene‹, originally given its first performance by the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, Arnold Schoenberg, the great-grandfather of the avant-garde, explored the new medium film with mighty sounds. György Ligeti’s ›Lux aeterna‹ and ›Clocks and Clouds‹ expand the sound spectrum by a vocal aspect and build a bridge back to Kubrick’s ›2001: A Space Odyssey‹. Finally, ›Klangschatten – mein Saitenspiel‹ offers another Helmut Lachenmann work – one which the composer calls »a kind of transparent façade« inverting established philharmonic patterns and inviting the listener to hear beyond the sounds themselves.


19,- (red. 10,50)

free seating
festival pass: 130,- (red. 70,-)

Single Tickets:

Bertramstraße 8
60320 Frankfurt
Mo-Fr 11.30-19 Phone: (069) 155-2000
Mo-Fr 9-19 , Sa 9-15

ADticket Frankfurt
Kaiserstraße 67
60329 Frankfurt am Main
Mo-Fr 9-19 , Sa 10-18
Phone: (069) 40 76 620